COAG waste export ban

Closed 3 Dec 2019

Opened 13 Nov 2019


On 9 August 2019, the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) agreed Australia should establish a timetable to ban the export of waste plastic, paper, glass and tyres, while building Australia’s capacity to generate high value recycled commodities and associated demand.

COAG’s agreement reflects increasing concern in Australia and around the world about plastic pollution of our oceans and the need to ensure that exports of waste do not cause harm to human health and the environment.

On 8 November 2019, Commonwealth, state and territory Environment Ministers agreed that waste plastic, paper, glass and tyres that have not been processed into a value-added material should be subject to the export ban.

By early 2020, Environment Ministers will provide further advice on final timetables, definitions and response strategies to First Ministers for their confirmation.

The response strategies will seek to reduce waste, especially plastics, decrease the amount of waste going to landfill and maximise the capability of Australia’s waste management and recycling sector to collect, recycle, reuse, convert and recover waste.

Why We Are Consulting

Commonwealth, State and Territory governments are seeking feedback from industry and other stakeholders on measures needed to support implementation of the COAG agreement. A discussion paper proposes definitions and timeframes for the implementation of the export ban.

Your feedback is invited by 3 December 2019 on Australia’s approach to implementing these export bans, to help inform when and how the bans are introduced, and the support needed to implement them.

What Happens Next

Any late submissions should be sent via email to While the Department cannot guarantee that late submissions will be accepted, we value your feedback and will seek to ensure that your views are taken into account.


  • Waste Sector
  • students
  • universities
  • electronic equpiment industries
  • car, car parts and tyre industries
  • community groups
  • eNGOs
  • local councils
  • state governments
  • federal government agencies
  • Industry Peak bodies
  • Industry
  • Australian community


  • New South Wales
  • Victoria
  • Tasmania
  • South Australia
  • Western Australia
  • Northern Territory
  • Queensland
  • Australian Capital Territory
  • National